Egerton University

Egerton University

Type of Institution: Public University

Background Information

Egerton University (EU) is a public university located in Njoro, Nakuru County. It is one of the first full public universities in Kenya alongside the University of Nairobi, Moi University, Kenyatta University, and Maseno University. Owing to its history, Egerton University focuses significantly on agriculture and technology. In fact, the institution owns numerous livestock and huge pieces of agricultural land. Egerton University has its own Yoghurt manufacturing plant, and supplies milk to the general public. The university also has a vast experience in research, having commissioned and implemented research projects such as Agricultural Management Project (AMP), Participatory Rural Appraisal (PRA), and Lake Nakuru Research project among others.

History of Egerton University

It was established as an agricultural institution by Lord Maurice Egerton of Tatton, a British national who bought land and established a farm in Njoro, Nakuru. In 1950s, the institution was upgraded to an agricultural college offering diploma courses in Agriculture and technology. Egerton University was later expanded and gazette as a constituent college of Nairobi University in 1986.  Egerton University was established through an Act of Parliament in 1987.

Egerton University Campuses

Currently, Egerton University has four campuses: Main Njoro Campus, Nairobi Campus, Kenyatta Campus, and Nakuru Town Campus College.

The Main Campus in Njoro is the founding mother and epitome of the university. It is home to several faculties including Agriculture, Education and Community Studies, Engineering and Technology, Environment and Resources, Veterinary medicine and surgery, and Arts and social sciences. The Board of Undergraduate Studies and the Board of Post Graduate Studies are also located in Njoro Campus.

Nairobi Campus offers courses in Arts and Social Sciences, education and community studies, and commerce. It also houses the African Center for Distance Education (ACDE).

Kenyatta Campus is located only 5 kilometers away from Njoro Campus. It is planned to accommodate the Open and Distance Learning Programme (CODL), which is currently situated at Njoro Campus.

Faculties and Departments

Egerton is a big university with many courses. It currently has 9 faculties and over 50 departments offering multiple programmes at postgraduate, undergraduate and diploma levels. The following are the faculties of Egerton University. If you click any of them, you will be directed to the faculty where you can find departments and courses offered through the faculty.

Admission Requirements

There are different minimum entry requirements for each academic level at Egerton University.

For the diploma level, the following admission requirements apply:

  • KCSE mean grade C – passed at one sitting for a minimum of 7 subjects.
  • Or a certificate with a “credit” pass from any recognized university
  • Any other requirement from the department, faculty or school offering the diploma course of choice.

A degree programme requires the following:

  • KCSE mean grade of C+ passed in one sitting.
  • Or two principal passes in the Kenya Advanced Certificate of Education Exam.
  • Or Diploma from Egerton with a pass “credit”
  • Or similar qualification from any other institution of higher learning

The minimum admission requirements for a Master’s programme are:

  • A degree with a pass from Egerton University
  • Applicants for a master’s degree should have a minimum of an Upper Second Class Honours degree in the relevant discipline from Egerton University or an institution recognized by Egerton University.
  • However, the requirements differ from one programme to another.

Application Process

To apply for a course at Egerton University as a self-sponsored student, one needs to:

  • First obtain an application form from the following link:
  • The above link also has student registration forms and letter of acceptance or rejection for Egerton University
  • Once you download the form, read it carefully and fill all the spaces, including your personal details and qualifications
  • Attach all the required documents
  • Pay the required application fee indicated on the form to any of Egerton University’s Bank Account, and attach the deposit slip
  • Submit the application form to Egerton University campuses.

How to apply for a course online at Egerton University:

You can apply for any course at Egerton University through online application. To do so, go to the following link:

  • Then click “Apply Now”.
  • Choose your academic level – diploma, bachelors, doctorate, and masters.
  • Search your programme, e.g. Bachelor of Agribusiness Management
  • Click “Filter”. A link to your course will appear below. Click on that link.
  • Next step: click “Apply”. Application fee will be shown below. For undergraduate courses the application fee is KSH 2000.
  • Select your payment method, e.g. Bank Slip or M-Pesa

How to pay for application fee for Egerton University:

  1. Go to M-Pesa menu, select Lipa na M-Pesa
  2. Select Paybill
  3. Enter 886220as the business number and press OK
  4. Enter {applicationId}as the account number and press OK
  5. Enter amount, KSH 2000and press OK
  6. Enter your M-Pesa PIN and press OK

Egerton University Bank Account: KCB A/C No 1137209542, Egerton Branch

How to apply for a course at Egerton University through KUCCPS

  • Log in to KUCCPS portal
  • On the username section, enter your KCSE index number, e.g. 33456478023
  • On the KCSE year, enter the year you sat for KCSE e.g. 2019
  • Enter your KCPE index number as the password
  • Click Log in.
  • On the next page, which is the dashboard, you will be given the option to apply for a course if the application is open.
  • Go to institutions > Egerton University > Programmes and choose your course of choice.
  • Add your course to cart and return to the dashboard where you can enter your course from Egerton University.
  • You will then be guided on how to pay the application fee via M-Pesa. After paying, submit and relax.

KUCCPS admission letters

Once you have applied for a course at Egerton University through KUCCPS, you can now wait for your admission letter. When you have confirmed your admission to Egerton University, you can find your admission letter on the university’s website.

  • Go to the university website and log in using username or KCSE index number
  • Navigate to downloads
  • Download your KUCCPS admission letter for Egerton University

Fees Structure

The student fees charged by Egerton University varies according to course type and level.

To know the amount of fees you need to pay, go to the link:

Student Portal

Student portal is a place where students access their data online. The university stores your profile information, grades, and fees statements online, and you can access them through the student portal. Egerton University’s student portal can be accessed through the link:

Your log-in details such as student number and password will be generated for you during admission.

List of Courses offered at Egerton University

The following courses are offered at Egerton University:

Contact Details

Egerton University Njoro Campus

Email Address:

Tel: 254-051-2217891/2 254-051-2217781

Postal Address: P.O Box 536 Egerton 20115 Kenya

Physical location: Njoro, Nakuru

Egerton University Nakuru Town campus


Tel: 254-051-2217891/2 254-051-2217781

Address: P.O Box 536 Egerton 20115 Kenya


Physical Location: Located at Stanbank House, Moi Avenue (Opposite Hilton Hotel).

Tel: 0736309390, 0704309390

Leave a Reply