The Four Types of Health Care Service Settings

What are the four types of healthcare service settings?

The four types of health care service settings include: primary health care settings, secondary and tertiary settings, Restorative care settings, and continuing care settings. Each of these types of settings have unique components and implementation issues.

Primary Healthcare Setting

Primary health care settings are health care services that provide essential care using methods that are socially and scientifically acceptable (Hendrickson, 2013). It is the type of care service setting in which families and communities are provided with universal access to health care. They are developed at affordable costs and full participation of the community in order to enhance development of healthcare system through self-determination and self-reliance. The purpose of the primary care settings is to reduce exclusion in healthcare and better health services are provided for all. One of the issues associated with its implementation is the influence of universal coverage reforms and other legal and political policies that may accelerate or slow down the pace of implementation (Hendrickson, 2013). There are also things that may need resources to implement, including the physician’s office, ambulances, community health awareness and health clinics.

Secondary and Tertiary Setting

Secondary and Tertiary settings are specialized consultative care settings where by healthcare services are provided for patients referred from primary health care settings. They address diseases or injuries that have occurred. It aims at halting or reducing the progress of an illness (Hendrickson, 2013). These settings are usually characterized by regular examination of patients, exercise programs and rehabilitation. The major issue with implementation of secondary and tertiary health care settings is that they need a lot of resources including building rehabilitation centres and screening devices. It also requires highly qualified and knowledgeable health care personnel to implement.

Restorative Care Setting

Restorative care settings involve the provision of ongoing nursing or health care services in long term and skilled health care facilities referred to as nursing homes. This is usually done after rehabilitation. Restorative care is provided by paraprofessional and licensed caregivers to enhance optimal functioning and independence of patients (Hendrickson, 2013). Restorative settings include inpatient and outpatient rehabilitation, homecare, and SNF. Its implementation includes issues such as training, safety, and regular assessment. The nursing and therapy assistants often require training. These assistants also train and engage people in order to enhance participation.

Continuing Care Setting

Lastly, continuing care settings refer to extended care services provided outside the hospital to promote good health for patients. These settings are provided anywhere outside hospital including home and registered care homes. Continuing care services are available to children, adults, and young people who suffered injuries, disabilities or illnesses that cannot be adequately covered by existing universal healthcare in other settings (Hendrickson, 2013). One of the issues in implementation is that continuing healthcare providers have to assess whether a person is eligible for this healthcare setting. This is determined if the person has primary healthcare need that requires continued care services. Eligibility depends on assessed needs rather than a condition or diagnosis.

Leave a Reply